Eldeirawi, DeVon and Ferrans to Receive Awards at 2016 MNRS Annual Conference


Update (3/24/16): See description of Conference and CON Reception...

Three professors from UIC College of Nursing will be receiving awards at this year's Midwest Nursing Research Society (MNRS) Conference.  The three professors are Dr. Kamal Eldeirawi, Dr. Holli DeVon and Dr. Carol Ferrans.

Dr. Kamal Eldeirawi has been selected as the recipient of the 2016 Senior Investigator Award of the Midwest Nursing Research Society’s Health of Diverse Populations (HDP) Research Interest Group (RIG). The Senior Investigator Award is awarded to an experienced researcher who has made outstanding contributions to the health of diverse populations research and has served as a mentor for students and/or peers.

Kamal will receive the award at the HDP RIG meeting scheduled for Saturday, March 19, 2016 at 11:00 am.

Dr. Holli DeVon will receive the MNRS RIG Acute and Critical Care Research Section’s 2016 Distinguished Scientist Award. The purpose of the award is to recognize a nurse researcher who has sustained an outstanding record of research in acute care nursing.

The award will be presented at the Acute & Critical-Care Across The Life Span RIG meeting taking place on March 19 at 11:00 a.m.

Dr. Carol Ferrans is being honored with the 2016 MNRS Lifetime Achievement Award. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an MNRS member who has significantly advanced the profession of nursing either through an extensive program of research or creation of environments where research can flourish, and whose distinguished career yielded outstanding and noteworthy accomplishments.

The 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented at the MNRS Business Meeting/Awards Presentation, which will begin at 5:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 19.

The annual MNRS conference in will be in Milwaukee, Wisconsin and runs March 17-20, 2016.  The UIC College of Nursing will be holding a reception on Friday, March 18, 2016 - 8:00pm to 10:00pm.  For more information including who to RSVP, please go here...