Awards to CON Faculty and Alumni at ACNM 60th Annual Meeting

ACNM 60th Anniversary Logo

Both faculty and alumni from UIC's College of Nursing figured prominently as award recipients at this year's meeting of the American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM).  Taking place this year in the Washington DC area, the event itself was significant being the 60th anniversary and 60th Annual Meeting of ACNW as an organization.  In this context, ACNM's highest honor, the Hattie Hemschemeyer Award, went to UIC Alum Mary Ellen Stanton CNM for her contributions to global health.

UIC alum and former faculty Janet Engstrom PhD, along with her co-editors, won the best book of the year award for their book entitled, “Prenatal and Postnatal Care: A Woman Centered Approach.” WCFHS faculty Carrie Klima, Liz Gabzdyl, and Karen DeCocker were authors of chapters in the book.

Judith Schlaeger won the best research oral presentation of the year.  Julienne Rutherford won the best Midwifery Teaching award (nominated by UIC students).  The 2015 Dorothea Lang Pioneer Award went to ALL CNMs certified between 1955-1985:  Kathleen Dunne, Sabina Dambrauskas (UIC CON Alumni Assoc) and WCFHS Dept. head, Barbara McFarlin.

Congratulations all!