Dr. Eileen Collins Receives CON Distinguished Researcher Award

Photo of Dr. CollinsDr. Eileen Collins, Professor in the Department of Biobehavioral Health Science is the 2015 recipient of UIC College of Nursing (CON) Distinguished Researcher award.  The CON Distinguished Researcher Award is an annual award established to recognize a UIC CON faculty member or alumnus who has made an outstanding contribution to nursing science and research.  The award will be given on Sept. 18, 2015 (see event info).

Dr. Collins is an outstanding researcher. She is internationally recognized for her innovative research in pulmonary rehabilitation. Dr. Collins developed a computerized breathing-retraining system to assist patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) control their breathing. Although slowed, controlled breathing has been advocated for use in patients with COPD, prior to Dr. Collins’ study, there had been no randomized clinical trials demonstrating the clinical benefits or the underlying mechanisms of improved exercise tolerance.

Dr. Collins has widely disseminated her research in top-tier multidisciplinary journals such as the Journal of the American Medical Association, the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, Respiratory Medicine, Lung, and the Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing. To date, she has authored 67 publications, of which she is the senior author on more than half of these. Dr. Collins has built a program of research as principal investigator that includes funding from the National Institute for Nursing Research and the Department of Veterans Affairs. She has maintained a continuous impressive grant funding record of greater than $25 million. This impressive grant funding history provided compelling evidence of Dr. Collins eminence.

Dr. Collins is the recipient of numerous awards and honors for her accomplishments. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing and the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation. In 2014, she was recognized with the Thomas L. Petty Distinguished Research Scholar award from the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation. She was the first nurse to receive the prestigious Petty award.