Default News Category.

Natacha Pierre Receives Illinois Nurse Educator Fellowship Award

Natacha Pierre, DNP, FNP-BC, a Clinical Instructor in the Department of Health Systems Science is one of 22 recipients statewide to receive the Illinois Nurse Educator Fellowship Award for 2015. The purpose of the Nurse Educator Fellowship Program is to ensure the retention of well-qualified nursing faculty at institutions of higher learning that award degrees in nursing.

The UIC College of Nursing Retains #2 Rank in NIH Funding

The College of Nursing has retained its number two ranking in research funding from the National Institutes of Health.  “In this challenging climate of competition for NIH research funding, we are proud to retain our second place ranking among superb peer schools,” said Dean Terri E. Weaver. “It reflects the unwavering commitment of UIC nursing faculty to pursue new knowledge for improved health care.”

Nine UIC Nursing Faculty and Alumni Inducted as American Academy of Nursing Fellows

On Saturday, October 18th, the American Academy of Nursing inducted nine College of Nursing faculty and alumni as Fellows during the Academy’s 2014 Transforming Health, Driving Policy Conference in Washington, DC.  The College of Nursing faculty being celebrated are Dr.’s Sandra Drozdz Burke, Eileen Danaher Hacker, Brigid Lusk, and Linda L. McCreary.  Additionally, five alumni are also being honored.  They are Dr.’s Mollie Cummins, Lisa Kane Low, Leslie Nicoll, Mark Parshall, and Wendy Lee Mann Woith.

IPE Grand Rounds Series : Silos to Teamwork (Dr. Judith Haber)

Interprofessional Education (IPE) Grand Rounds Series: "Silos to Teamwork: Shaping an IP Oral Health Education and Practice Culture Presented by Dr. Judith Haber"

October 30, 2014, 11:30 pm -1:00 pm

Third Floor Conference Center, UIC College of Nursing, Chicago (Webcast in Peoria, Rockford, Quad Cities, & Urbana).  Lunch will be provided by RSVP: Alexis Adams-Wynn at

Free Continuing Education Credits (1.16) will be issued.